Twelve(ish) Days of Authors – Day 3, Audra Middleton

19 Dec

Next up is fellow Burst Author and I’ll go-so-far as to say Launch-Buddy, Audra Middleton, with her first novel, Watcher, due out January 8 2013. 

AudraMiddletonauthorshot

Audra is a mother of three from Washington State and I’d like to thank her for agreeing to answer a few questions.

Tell us about Watcher and who you think would like it.

Watcher is a fantasy novel in which… an orphan girl seeks the oblivion of the forest while darkness lures the Chosen Son of prophecy, yet they find each other, and their budding love could destroy the very world Goran, the tormented prophet, is trying to save.  I think anyone who appreciates a good love story would enjoy it.

 

In Watcher, do you have a favorite character? How about least favorite?

My favorite character is Watcher herself.  She transforms into fauna, keeps a bear for a pet, and does not have much use for social norms.  I enjoy female characters who are strong and intelligent.  I can’t think of a character I didn’t enjoy writing; even the villains have their appeal.  It’s sometimes cathartic to write those evil characters when you’re in a foul mood.

 Watchercover

For you, what makes the difference between a ‘good’ book and a ‘great’ book?

For me, a great book has well-developed characters, the kind that stick with you even after you’ve finished the story.  Vivid description and a compelling plot are important too, but to me the characters are paramount.  I love to feel like I know that character, personally.

 

Do you have any favorite couples in fiction? How about a pairing you never understood the appeal of?

I really liked Rowling’s Harry and Ginny.  They were sweet.  I’m really not sure what Westley saw in Buttercup, as much as I loved The Princess Bride.  I liked that she was a tomboy who didn’t care for bathing as a child, but overall I wished she had more brains and backbone.

 

Is there anything else in the works that we should know about?

I just finished writing a quirky little paranormal thriller called the Hitchhiker that I’m hoping will turn into a series.  I’m working on a sequel to Watcher, and a fun little ‘summer read’ right now, in between chauffeuring my kids around and prepping for the holidays.

Tell us a bit about your writing style – is there anything you find really easy or, really hard?

Dialogue comes easily for me, and I enjoy developing my characters.  I struggle with scenes that are out of my realm of knowledge and experience.  For instance, I’ve never seen combat, nor have I been to medical school, so I always have to do a lot of research for those battle scenes, and medical scenarios.  Then I watch The 300 or a few episodes of ER just to psych myself up for them.

In the spirit of sharing, tell us about a book by another author you adore, and who you think would like it.

I’ve been enjoying Susan Stec’s The Grateful Undead series.  They’re fun, full of vivacious characters and crazy antics.  I think anyone who enjoys vampire books would enjoy them.

Do you have any special ways to celebrate the holidays?

We have a holiday tradition of overspending, overeating, and overdoing in general, which includes a twelve foot tree, gingerbread cookies, lots of presents, and a trip to Lake Chelan.

Do you play a musical instrument of any sort? If not, is there any you ever considered taking up? If absolutely not, were you ever kicked out of a choir?

Once upon a time I used to play the xylophone.  I remember playing the Can Can, Hungarian Rhapsody No. 2, and Little Brown Jug like nobody’s business.  I would probably be kicked out of the choir, were I to try out, because my singing skills are not stellar.

What’s your favorite Christmas Special?

My favorite Christmas movies are Elf, It’s a Wonderful Life, and A Christmas Story.  I never cared for Rudolf, Santa’s mean in that one and those claymation creatures are sort of creepy.

Every author has the most loathsome part of the craft – what do you hate the most?

Marketing is probably my least favorite aspect of the publishing process, just because I’ve never really been a salesperson, and the product in this case is my own work, which adds a whole new twist to the pressure.  Putting yourself ‘out there’ can be pretty intimidating, but it’s worth it because writing in a vacuum isn’t nearly as much fun as sharing my stories with others.

 

What’s the best movie you’ve seen so far this year, or are you anticipating seeing anything over the holiday season?

In recent years, I mostly only make it to the movie theater with my kids, so I see a lot of superhero movies and cartoons, which are great, but this year I am looking forward to going to see The Hobbit.  That one’s for me.  It was always my favorite of Tolkien’s books, because it had a lot of humor and it had a dragon, so it’s a double bonus.

 

Thank you so much for inviting me!

 

You’re welcome, Audra! Remember, Audra and I both have books coming out on the same day, so if you’re checking me out come January 8, be sure to check out Watcher as well! In the meantime you can check out Audra’s blog here. 

4 Responses to “Twelve(ish) Days of Authors – Day 3, Audra Middleton”

  1. Erin December 19, 2012 at 10:04 pm #

    Fantastic interview, Audra! I’m looking forward to reading the rest of the trilogy 🙂

  2. Susan Stec December 20, 2012 at 1:42 am #

    I was able to read an advanced copy of Watcher and absolutely loved it. I have to say that even though I love all of the characters, Watcher holds a special place in my heart as well. My favorite chapters are when she is moving through the trees and grass. The visuals are amazing clear.

    This is the first time I’ve seen the cover art, though. It’s beautiful.

    Audra, thank you so much for mentioning my series. You humble me.

    Susan

    • Audra Middleton December 20, 2012 at 8:58 pm #

      Thank you for your kind words. I appreciate the support!

      Audra

  3. Sharon Bradford December 21, 2012 at 4:40 am #

    You continue to amaze me Audra. Keep up the good work.
    Love you
    Mom

Leave a Reply

