The Twelve(ish) Days of Authors – Day 6, Allison Knight

22 Dec

Did we survive the Mayan Apocalypse? I hope so – I have a bunch more authors to blog about so as far as I’m concerned, if any other scheduled Ragnarok can be considerate and wait until at least January 9, I’d be ever so much obliged.

Today’s feature author is romance author Allison Knight – she is joining Champagne with her novel, The Betrayed Bride, a contemporary romance novel which comes out in May. In the meantime, if you’re looking for a historical romance, you can check out her Song Trilogy or maybe some of her other books.

small portrait Allison Knight (2)

Tell us about Betrayed Bride and who you think would like it.

Betrayed Bride is a Contemporary Romance, much like Harlequin’s shorter romances, Presents, Desire, so anyone who likes that kind of romance would enjoy this book. It’s a story about a woman who wakes up in the hospital to learn she has a husband, one she can’t remember, a father who won’t or can’t visit her, and a life she can’t remember. She doesn’t remember her accident or anything that’s happened in the last year and a half. When she does learn the details, she believes she’s been betrayed by everyone.

 

Where did you get the idea for the plot of Betrayed Bride?

Unfortunately, I’ve spent a lot of time in the hospital this last year and a half. When all you can do is lie there and think, as an author, story lines run through your head. So, I’m listening to the beep of the IV machine and think how would I feel if I couldn’t remember the year or so.  Bingo!  Story idea. I had the nurses running around looking for paper and pencil. Now, I always take a note pad with me when I go to the hospital, or make sure my poor DH brings me the pad and pencils on my desk.

 

How do you feel about writing the novel length as compared to other formats?

I love to talk…  Okay, not the best trait, but I like the length of a novel, because I get to develop the characters more, go into more detail and if I’m honest get to do more research.  I do love to research. You learn the darnedest things. Did you know…  Well, that’s for another time.

 

Do you have a special talent unrelated to writing?

Two things I consider a special talent. I love to cook and yes, I’m told I’m a great cook, especially baked stuff. I’m also into hand crafts. I know how to do both the German and the Dutch method of knitting and yes there is a difference.

 

Is there anything you know now as a published author you wish you could go back and tell yourself twenty years ago?

I picked twenty years ago because that was the beginning of the printing revolution. No one knew it at the time but with the introduction of computers and online service (I remember the first ones) it became evident that things would change. No one paid any attention to Guttenberg when he was fooling around in his shop, until his bible became available. Then everyone sat up and took notice. Mass printing was possible. Then the newsletters, newspapers, books, phamlets….  Everything followed. 

So it was with the online service, but like I said no one paid any attention. I should have much sooner than I did. My first digital book was released in 1998 so I guess I’m a pioneer. I should have (I hate that expression) taken note sooner and followed the advances a lot more closely.

 

Every author has the most loathsome part of the craft – what do you hate the most?

Actually, my least favorite part of the process is giving the work to my first editor, my DH. He is quite a critic. If the story line slips a bit, I get big red lines through my words. And my spelling is atrocious, so he circles all the misspelled words in red. Then there are the typo, same thing there.

I get back my baby, usually the third of fourth draft before he gets it, with red all over the pages. I tell you it can be disheartening. Here I thought I had done such a good job and my creation has been devalued. Yes, very disheartening…  However, he is good and yes I’m lucky to have him. He seems to be able to pick out those points that need work, or places in the plot that are not clear enough and I know my publisher’s editor would hate to have to correct all my spelling mistakes.

 

Do you have any other projects in the works that we should know about?

I’m working on the last of the medieval romance ‘Song’ series. This is the story of a Welsh family during the time of Edward the first of England. Wales did become a part of England, but the struggle was horrific. And remember what I said about research.  (I got to do lots and lots of research writing this series.)

Windsong

I also have three other books underway. All romances, all historical and yes, I’m a gultton for punishment. I should write one book at a time… But I can’t.

 

Is there a Christmas Carol you can’t stand?

I can not stand “Grandma got run over by a reindeer!” I guess because I’m a grandma. I cringe every time I hear it. And my favorite you never hear. “The Birthday of a King.” Sigh!

 

For you, what makes the difference between a ‘good’ book and a ‘great’ book?

A good book is one that takes you away from everyday worries. A great book is one you can not put down. It has conflict, emotion that has you laughing or crying, you feel for the characters, and sometimes you want to pick the hero or heroine or villain up and shake them because they seem so real. I’ve read a lot of good books, but really only a few great books.

 

In the spirit of sharing, tell us about a book by another author you adore, and who you think would like it.

So this question follows the previous one. A great book by a terrific author is Annie by Catherine Anderson. This is a historical about a deaf girl and the man who protects her. It has everything. There were times when I actually laughed out loud as I read. I also did a lot of crying. The hero had problems, the heroine had problems and they just got worse, same for the hero. Catherine writes books about characters with real physical or emotional disabilities. If you like romance, I suspect you’ll love her. She writes both Contemporary and Historical romance.

 

If I asked you how to crochet, could you teach me how? If not, could you teach me to play croquet?

Yep on the crochet. I can do that and I could teach you if I had time to video the techniques. And what is croquet? Something to do with food?  (Grinning)

 

croquet-3This is all I got.

Would you like to leave a shout-out to anyone?

A writing friend has a terrific web site. She’s into historical facts also and has some wonderful tidbits. I found out from her web site, that George Washington made his money making whiskey. Who would have thought? If you like history, then you need to visit often. The link is www.ritabay.com

Thank you very much for the Interview, Allison!  If you’d like to know more about Allison, you can check her out at Facebook and on Twitter

 

Leave a Reply

