Daily Book Challenge: Day 9

23 Aug

Image

Day 09 – A book you thought you wouldn’t like but ended up loving

I’m never sure how to answer these things – I usually end up enjoying some aspect of most books; unless I go in knowing it’s bad. That’s why I try to avoid hyped-up stuff, because I like to poke and prod at the faults (one can only say “WOWEEE SO AMAZING!ONE! so many times). I’m also kind of the bad feminist who doesn’t acknowledge how hard things have been for previous generations – I work in EMS which is still 80% male (Stats unknown, that’s just a number we throw around) but it’s also a field with employment equity, yaddah yaddah. You meet some sexist guys in the field, but for the most part they have to keep most of it to themselves; HR takes that stuff seriously.

This book I haven’t probably read in five years, but I remember really enjoying looking at the different expectations placed on women, and how oftentimes, you have to be much better than a guy just to be equal.

My only qualm is – well, this book highlights how you either have to come from money or effectively starve as an artist, because, like many people, there is no such thing as writing part-time. I don’t really like starving, so I’m still trying to manage writing with having an occupation unrelated to writing. I think it’s working out good – EMS, if nothing else, gives me the education needed to adequately relay injuries and you meet the most interesting people, don’t ya know. People who couldn’t be believable in fiction, but I’m getting off topic. Those of us who come from the working class, just bare with us, okay? I promise not to wreck literature singlehandedly – I’ll need help.

Anyway – I haven’t read everything by Woolf, but I had a professor who loved her back in the Uni days, so I’ve read quite a bit. Great getting your feet wet with Woolf, and it also talks a bit about the politics of why we have so many more male writers than female ones. Dated, granted, but still definitely worth the read.

 “Lock up your libraries if you like; but there is no gate, no lock, no bolt that you can set upon the freedom of my mind.”
― Virginia Woolf, A Room of One’s Own

Leave a Reply

