Daily Book Meme: Day 13

27 Aug

George Orwell

I’ve talked enough about Lewis and Butler for the time being – I’m sure we’ll be back to them shortly. I generally try to follow the George Orwell school of writing (Keep it Simple, Stupid).  Just because his prose is clear, doesn’t mean that it’s by any means poor, I’ll let it speak for itself:

“I am a degenerate modern semi-intellectual who would die if I did not get my early morning cup of tea and my New Statesman every Friday. Clearly I do not, in a sense, ‘want’ to return to a simpler, harder, probably agricultural way of life. In the same sense I don’t ‘want’ to cut down on my drinking, to pay my debts, to take enough exercise, to be faithful to my wife, etc. etc. But in another and more permanent sense I do want these things, and perhaps in the same sense I want a civilization in which ‘progress’ is not definable as making the world safe for little fat men.”

“This work was strictly voluntary, but any animal who absented himself from it would have his rations reduced by half.”

“People sleep peaceably in their beds at night only because rough men stand ready to do violence on their behalf.”

“Several of them would have protested if they could have found the right arguments.”

“Writing a book is a horrible, exhausting struggle, like a long bout with some painful illness. One would never undertake such a thing if one were not driven on by some demon whom one can neither resist nor understand.”

Cookies if you can name the origin of each quote without googling.

Leave a Reply

