Daily Book Challenge: Day 26

10 Sep

Day 26 – A book that changed your opinion about something

SSF

I’m not 100% sure it was just this book that changed my mind. I think a big part of it is my job, and what I see happening to people’s bodies, in particular if I know they’re not making the healthiest choices. And, that being said, I believe in personal accountability – it’s my fault if I cram nothing but cake and ice cream down my gullet, no one else’s.

That being said, I have been watching lots of shows on nutrition and this book made me agree with taking some of the crap out of schools.

On a tangent, years ago I was the co-chair of student issues (I held technically 4 seats at the same time, because they were all seats no one wanted – the members of council wouldn’t go on those committees and the people in the committees hated council) which was basically me telling the rest of student council what my minions wanted to do – and by minions, I mean people with the ideas and gumption, and me taking credit or flack, depending how well it was received (there was a big giant fundraiser that brought the school together that almost everyone remembered as one of the highlights of that year – I had very little to do other than hold the door for the actual person who wanted to do it; I still get credit for this and I’ve been out of High School for 12 years)  – anyway, one such initiative was having healthy food in the cafeteria. Being the Cheap Mook that I was (and still am)I didn’t care that they wanted to bring in fresh fruit/carrots or whatever, because I could get all the apples I wanted at home. I cannot tell you how many campaigns for the following year made it one of their priorities for the next year to bring in healthy food, and I wondered why no one went to supervalu and costco like my mother did, but I was busy graduating and getting ready for university, so I never really thought about it.

Then I became a medic, and I learned to eat on the run. I get it now.

I think a big issue that this book doesn’t address directly is modified food – it talks about food-like product (Cheezwhiz) and reading what I have about GMOs, it’s scary what we’re willing to sell people under this wholesome image. That, and when you work with a lot of sick people, and you know a lot of them don’t read a lot of nutritional books, it upsetting, to say the least.

I guess I’m spoiled – I’m surrounded by people who like to bake and cook from scratch, and we make it a point to get our food from the nearby farms when we can – I work as a rural medic, but I make it a point to bring back farm fresh stuff in season. We still go to the store and we eat in restaurants like everyone else, but damn, you don’t realize the difference in taste until you switch from corn-fed to pasture-fed.

Leave a Reply

