Autumn Blog Hop/ ABC’s of Reading

19 Sep

 

FALLFESTIVAL

I just participated, so if you’re feeling sad that summer’s over, or you happen to love the autumn season, go and check it out. I used the term Autumn, even though it’s definitely Fall around here – technically, the snow can start to fly any time in October, though lately we’ve been getting it late November, which is awesome on account of Halloween costumes.

Okay – with the exception of A, I will not mention Burroughs, Lewis, Butler, or Orwell. GO!

ABC’s of Reading

Taken from I’m not sure where, exactly, seen in on a number of blogs

Author You’ve Read the Most Books From: Edgar Rice Burroughs. I’m sure other people have written more than 50 books in their lifetime, but I’m not sure if this is likely to change…

Best Sequel Ever: Don’t know if it’s “the best sequel ever” because technically Druids was a prequel in terms of when they wrote them – “Captives” by Barb Galler-Smith and Josh Langston.

Currently Reading: Clockwork Heart by Dru Pagliasotti

Drink of Choice while Reading: Tea. I like to have wine or port on occasion while reading, because I want you all to pretend I always look classy in some sort of swanky baby-pink ballgown before a billowing fireplace posing thoughtfully when I read in some sort of Victorian-style study, but I’d be drunk all the time if it was a requirement to read. I usually save it for social occasions, but wine with cheese is nice when you’re reading.

E-Reader or Physical Books: I love my ereader, but physical books feel… better. My ereader is nice for when I’m traveling though – takes up less space and I can bring my whole library with me, not to mention, I get less flack from people who see all the books I already have.  The bad side, is that I can be technologically inept – I have a book I’ve been wanting to read and it’s still not loaded onto my ereader properly.

Fictional Character you Would Have Dated in High School: Gilbert from Anne of Green Gables. He’s a nice guy – you know, past the whole ‘carrots’ thing. Jerks don’t do it for me in a romantic sense – granted, they are fun to write about, but I actually treat them like jerks with comeuppance. I like nice guys – bonus if they’re nice and they can banter with me. Playful banter is always a bonus. Every time I see one of those Alpha-Douches I just imagine Gaston from Disney’s Beauty and the Beast and I’m getting off topic. So back to Gilbert.

Unless Ben Barnes is Prince Caspian.  Pre Dawn-Treader Beard. [/Purr]

Glad you gave this book a chance: Surrender by Rhiannon Paille. I gave it a low mark on Goodreads because the prose came across as a little rough in the beginning, and I’m a believer in showing that the series gets better, the writing is starting to keep up with the story (at least, the two books I’ve read thus far). Anyway – it’s interesting – kind of new-agey, but I like a different take on what we assume is a classic love story – it goes dark, and it seems like Paille isn’t afraid to go into that dark place in fiction.

Hidden Gem Book: Black Bottle Man by Craig Russell.

Important Moments of your Reading Life:  When I realized that there was no one ‘way’ to write, and that style is something to use to the author’s advantage.  Once you figure this out, manipulation of diction becomes almost natural.

Just Finished: Urban Green Man Anthology, edited by Adria Laycraft and Janice Blaine

Kind of Books you won’t read: I’ll normally give anything a whirl – not interested in erotica or anything that strikes me as pedophilic, though. I don’t normally care for romance novels or erotica – I find them kind of predictable.

Longest Book You’ve Read: Are we counting book series? Because I think that’s The Malazan Series or Michelle West’s stuff – but if it’s an individual book, it’s Les Miserables by Victor Hugo. In English, anyway.

Major Book Hangover Because of: Terry Pratchett. I’m now a snob when it comes to humor.

Number of Bookcases you own: Three.

One Book that you have read multiple times: Maskerade! By Terry Pratchett. It ruined The Phantom of the Opera in all its incarnations for me. Particularly, Christine!! I know, it might come across a bit gimmicky – !! But I love how Pratchett puts so much character(!!) into simple dialogue!!

Preferred Place to Read: On a patio in the sunshine. If that’s the case though, it’s probably iced tea…

Quote from a Book that Inspires you/Gives you Feels:

Schmenderick: The magic chose the shape, not I. I am a bearer, I am a dwelling, I am a messenger…

Molly: You are an idiot!

~The Last Unicorn by T.S. Beagle

Reading Regret: Don’t know if I have one – probably that I don’t get around to reading as much as of the titles as I’d like, and I wish I could read more small/indie/self-pubbed stuff and help the gems shine. In terms of reviewing regret, I’m kind of annoyed that I let something someone said to me years ago affect my reviews – I really enjoyed talking about my books, but, now I’m an author so I have to be way more careful, and starting it up again would just invite trouble.

Series you Started and Need to Finish: Malazan Book of the Fallen. I’m getting on it!

Three of your All-Time Favorite Books: Oh screw it (the no C.S. Lewis rule):

Dune by Frank Herbert

Mere Christianity by C.S. Lewis

Major Cheat – I have an Illustrated Anthology for Children – it has everything from 1000 Arabian Nights, Aesop’s fables, to Rikki Tikki Tavi. I’m happy to be loaning it to my niece, who just started grade 1.

Unapologetic Fangirl for: My own stuff…?

Very excited for this release more than any other: Like everyone else, I really want to finish George RR Martin’s Song of Ice and Fire. And I’m waiting until the series is done before I continue on – I know, DwD is out – but I want matching covers, darn it. Because once I finish the books, I can finally watch the HBO series everyone is crowing about. I refuse in the meantime.

X Marks the Spot (Start on your Bookshelf and count to the 27th): This was a Principles of Paramedic Care Vol #3. Instead, allow me to direct you to the next book on my reading list: Assured Destruction by Michael F. Stewart.

Your Latest Book Purchase: Kobo – I bought The Shadowed Sun by N.K. Jemisin, and alas, I could no longer get it in paperback, so I have The Killing Moon in that format, and The Shadowed Sun in digital. Sad Panda.

ZZZ-Snatcher (last book that kept you up way too late): I like my sleep! It’s Tetris that’ll keep me up far too late…

One Response to “Autumn Blog Hop/ ABC’s of Reading”

  1. Kristen H. (@bookgoil) September 22, 2013 at 4:53 pm #

    Great list! I love that you would have dated Gilbert, such a great character. I think it’s time to revisit those books. One of my 5th grade students is currently reading that series. 🙂

Leave a Reply

