Yet Another Book Tour

8 Jun

Sorry I haven’t been updating, but so much for lifehacks for a sore throat – this flue has literally been going on for about two weeks now. I’m mostly better but when the pager wakes me up and I go on the radio, I still sound like I swallowed a frog. Ah well; I’m stuck working this weekend but the weather is lovely (it got a little windy – the closer I go to the old homefront it keeps calling me back) and I just found out I got made permanent right near where I moved – so I don’t know my summer schedule yet, but hopefully I’ll be able to commit to When Words Collide this August – I’ve never been but more than a handful of other locals say it’s a great convention. The pluses definitely outweigh the minuses in my profession in terms of shift work, but it would be nice to make summer plans soon. I do know I’m going camping and the dog want to go swimming, so I guess it’s just a matter of when exactly.

Anyway – doing a book tour – it’s a reviews only tour, not because I need my ego stroked (it’s self-stroking) but because review are so far what’s been helping me tell people why they should give me a chance. So far I’ve been trying most of the methods that work for other authors by my publishers – so far I’ve sold the most books to people in person, and I’ve seen them pull away and check Amazon/Goodreads before taking a chance. I’m more then cool with that so hopefully we’ll get some good variety. I was advised by this organizer to leave a comment at the bottom of the reviews – I’ve been trying the ‘leave it alone’ approach, so I’m going to stress that I’m not going to comment or be (any more) snotty regarding the reviews – just thanks for taking the time to read them, and possibly ask some sort of question. Today, the organizer is having a party all day, so you can check out a bunch of different books that’ll be blogged throughout the day – I’m going to post mine later, as it looks like we’re about to get geoposted (ambulance thing, not a book thing). The party is featuring everyone who’s doing a tour this month – they go review services for tons of authors across different genres, so I say pop in throughout the day to find something completely different, enter a contest, and see what’s new.

As for me, here’s the list of where my reviews will be this month:

06/09/2014 Our Wolves Den
6/16/2014 Straight from the Library
6/23/2014 The Reading Addict
6/23/2014 MAD Hoydenish
7/7/2014 Deal Sharing Aunt

And as an added bonus – I’m doing a giveaway – one of those five reviewers will win a $25 Amazon/online Gift Card, and you can too, just by leaving a comment with these reviewers. I’m really very flexible; if you’re a Kobo or Barnes and Nobel reader, I’ll honor those too – you need to tell me where you live so I don’t send you a Canadian Amazon GC or something silly.

Leave a comment