My Solution to Writing Burnout (Cartoons!)

19 Mar

Manitoba March can be tricky – sure, it’s nice now – the snow is almost melted – I’ll post the ‘got ya!’ blizzard that’s due some time around spring break. So I’ve been enjoying walking along Crescent Lake in PlaP and generally being outside with the dog, who is now 100% cone free.

Anyway – I know I was complaining about being burnt out before – let’s just say that I’ve been doing a lot of sketching lately, and that it seems to take the edge off writing. I actually want to work, and I finished two kids books in about four, maybe five months – which isn’t super fast, but given how generally tired I was, I’m surprised I did them as quick as I did. Editing is another story. I guess what I’m saying, is that when you’re stuck creatively – go and do something different. I need to get out of my comfort zone to be comfortable, so to speak. In the summer it’s easy – and now that I’m working full-time in a permanent position with someone who isn’t batshit crazy, I really have no excuse except for clinging to the past if I want to.

So I went through some old movies and I stumbled across a French-Canadian FIlm. Warning: Racism, NSFW. The Triplettes of Belleville – definitely a film if you’re artsy, or just like watching animation styles.

So I thought I’d mention some animation – limiting it to films – because I’m a giant nerd about it.

I can’t wait to get Song of the Sea – which looks pretty stylistic to Secret of the Kells. SotK I really enjoyed – there was a lot of hidden symbology in that movie. SotS is out on DVD, but I’m not allowed to spend any more money until Pay Day. I’m getting serious about my down payment, so I have a budget. Derp derp.

Back to more grown up stuff – Fire and Ice I probably watch at least once a year – I love Frazetta’s work, and this is basically an animated Burroughs Pelucidar movie. Nekron’s been my favorite character since I was a kid (no, definitely not a kid’s movie) but considering the characters are basically naked, it’s essentially an art study on movement, anatomy – the whole shebang. Rotoscoping – yes, the first few minutes feels like a He-Man cartoon. Right around the time the first guy gets gored, you realize it’s something a bit different…

And bonus if you buy the DVD – the one I got for my dad, anyway – has the Painting with Fire Documentary, which is about Frazetta’s life and gives you a bit of insight about the painter who pretty much defines the fantasy art genre to this day. I will get to the museum, some day *shake fist*

Terry Pratchett passed away a week ago – which, honestly, kind of stunned me, even though I knew his health was in decline. Anyhew, two of his books were animated – Wyrd Sisters and Soul Music. Other live action films include The Color of Magic and Hogfather, I have the graphic novel of Guards!Guards! Both animated films I own are done by Cosgrove Hall, who did Danger Mouse and Count Duckula, so while you shouldn’t expect Disney Animation, the details are great.

There are more – lots more – be it an animation style, or you like the story, what are some of your favorite animated films? (Or series, I’m cool with that, too).

Leave a Reply

