What I’ve been Reading Lately

19 Mar

If you’re ever wondering why I read one book over another, I tend to read whatever people give me, even though I get all hipster and begrudgingly read what’s popular unless it’s by a local author, but I will eventually give in. I put stuff down to read something more pressing, and I come back to it, but I think it makes me look like I’m binging on a genre for a while, but if someone gives me a book I like to return it to them in a timely manner. So enjoy while I cross-out the easy ones on this challenge, and we’ll see how I’m really doing later on in the challenge as the remainders get harder.

Reading Challenge Update
RLMarch19
A Classic Romance – Anna Keranina by Leo Tolstoy
A Book that Became a Movie – The Maze Runner by James Dascher
A Mystery or Thriller – The Scorch Trials by James Dascher
A Book Set in the Future – The Death Cure by James Dascher
^I know I could technically cross-off trilogy, but then he had to go and make a prequel. I’m sure someone will loan me the third book in a trilogy, I have two I’m thinking of and my friend has both final books.
A Non-Fiction Book – Wheat Belly by William Davis
A Book Set in High School – Twist of the Blade by Edward Willett
A Love Triangle – Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Claire (Okay, this was more like a love dodecahedron, but I digress…)
A Book that was originally written in a different language – Attack on Titan – No Regrets (Vol I & II – counting this as one story)

So with the exception of the Prequel, I read the Maze Runner series. Can I say, that while I usually can accept any rules in a universe so long as they’re consistent – that the virus… well, it seems like a horrible thing to brew up, because the purpose was population control. It’s implied to be man made. Now, it’s been a while since I did my Haz-Mat stuff, and we have stuff that attacks the nervous system – thing is, it attacks the lower brain, which causes SLUDGE (Salivation, Lacrimation, Urination, Defication, Gastric Distention and Emesis, which is basically medical-speak for your various openings start leaking whatever nasty fluid is associated with it) and as any student who has taken more than a basic university biology course can tell you – this is the kill zone. And it’s an automatic – you can control your breathing if you think about it, but you don’t normally, your body regulates it. Your cells automatically like a given PH and temperature – it’s all quite fascinating but in a nut shell, if we had to think to get our hearts to beat or our platelets to clot, we’d be hooped (of course, the heart runs on its own system independent of the brain, but the lungs don’t. That’s what you need to knock out – fry the basics, the body won’t last long).

So, while the books weren’t my thing, because it was Dan Browning in terms of all the cliff-hangers and mysteries for a sake of mysteries, can anyone tell me what genius, if he is creating something for population control, puts out something airborne, difficult to control, and also takes weeks – attacking higher brain functions? I know it’s scary and hey, we all like fast-moving zombies now, but it doesn’t make any sense. We could screw around with higher brain functions, but it’s not effective killing. You need something that looks dormant for about a week so people don’t know they have it, it kills them quickly, people scatter in fear, and the exposed scatter and spread because they don’t know they’re carriers. Easy.

Here’s my Saving Ass Pulls:

We Put you Kids in the Maze because we’re Pissed You’re Immune
We Put you Kids in the Maze because we’re only taking those best suited to problem solve are going in our Survival Dome. Your genes will be harvested for future use, but we are only taking X amount of people
We Put you Kids in the Maze because We’re Eccentric Dicks

But none of those scream out that the main character is the Special Chosen Savior.

It just seems better than, “We put your kids through death trials to learn how your brain responds to threats, which is where your ‘ghost’ comes in and controls things – unlike how fighting viruses and bacteria actually work.’ But maybe I’m wrong here. My study was on the more physiological and practical side then theory – thoughts?

Leave a Reply

