2016 First Reading Challenge

1 Feb

So I finally had some time off this month – not as much off as I wanted, and I was busy, but to be fair it was like my Christmas Holidays, going and visiting friends and family. I picked up some more paper and ebooks (kobo is having a 50% sale on a bunch of titles until midnight! Code Jan1650 – so far almost every title I tried it worked!). Back to either a busy day or, more likely, a quiet one, depending on what the transfer workload is in the morning. If you’re in the Winnipeg area and going to the St Vital Children’s Hospital Used Book Sale, you might see me there volunteering – I have no idea what part I’ll be working (I think I was non-fiction and or cooking last time) but I’ll be there Thursday and Friday helping out.

 2016Challenge

 

Okay – New Reading Challenge

A Book You Can Finish in a Day – Mabel the Mafioso Dwarf

A Book You’ve Been Meaning to Read – Into the Abyss by Carol Shaben

A Book Published Before you were Born – Castle of Llyr by Lloyd Alexander (1966!)

A Book You’ve Read at Least Once – Alex in Wanderland

 

Okay, Alex in Wanderland is a bit of a cheat, as I beta’d the rough draft I want to say about six years ago. Ron doesn’t normally change a heck of a lot of the plot despite my smart assery. I think for this year’s reading challenge, I’m going to make it a point to read and review more Canadian books – especially the ones from indie or small houses. For January, take your pick between Mabel the Mafioso Dwarf or Alex in Wanderland; both are by Winnipeg authors.

 

Leave a Reply

